Deer Lakes

School District

School Board elects Lupone president, Buck vice president at annual reorganization meeting

The Deer Lakes Board of School Directors welcomed three new members at their annual reorganization meeting.  The new board members are Eric J. Bienick, Kristi Minnick and Vic Laurenza Jr.    

The school board also elected William Lupone Jr. as its new president and Louis W. Buck as vice president at the meeting.  They replace Clara Salvi and Lisa Merlo as president and vice president respectively.

Newcomers Laurenza Jr. and Bieniek were each appointed new board treasurer and legislative chairperson to the Pennsylvania School Boards Association (PSBA) respectively.  Gary W. Torick was named representative to AW Beatty Career Center.

The board also voted 9-0 to retain Sekula and McCrady as the school district’s solicitor and to keep the meetings in the high school library at 7 p.m. on the second and third Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise noted.  No meetings are scheduled for July.
The school board also voted on its 2018 meeting calendar.  Each month, the school board holds two public meetings.  The first is always an agenda meeting in which the school board members discuss various issues to be voted on,  The second public meeting of each month is called the voting meeting.  That is where the actual legislation is passed.  All meetings start at 7 p.m. and are held in the high school library unless otherwise indicated. The 2018 dates are as follows: 

January 9 (Agenda), January 16 (Voting)
February 13, February 20
March 13, March 20
April 10, April 17
May 8, May 15
June 12, June 19
July - No Meetings Scheduled
August 14, August 21
September 11, September 18
October 9, October 16
November 13, November 20
Reorganization Meeting - Tuesday, December 4  

Print This Article