Calendar Lunch Menu Facebook Twitter Youtube Youtube

Deer Lakes
School District

Meeting Challenges...Building Futures

French National Honor Society Inducts Seven

The Deer Lakes High School's de la Societe Honoraire de Francais, de Saint – Exupery recently inducted seven new members.

Madame Desiree Rotondo, Sponsor of the Society and World Language Teacher, inducted and presided over the ceremony. She was joined by FNHS officers: President Kamilah Graham, Vice President Brandon Ruffalo, Secretary Taylor Bowers, and Treasurer Mallory Marzolf.

This international society, which was established in 1949, is sponsored by the American Association of the Teachers of French and the purpose is to stimulate interest in the study of French, to promote high standards of scholarship, to reward scholastic attainments, to create enthusiasm for civilization, to promote and perpetuate international friendship, and to reward efforts toward furthering solidarity in the French-speaking world.

Membership is open to those students who have maintained a B average in all courses and an A average in French for all years studied. Other criteria for selection into the Society are character, leadership, seriousness of purpose, cooperation, honesty, and service and commitment to others.

The highlights of the evening ceremony were the lighting of candles, Honor Society pledges recited in French by all new inductees, signing the Society register, and the presentation of certificates to the new inductees. The ceremony was followed by a reception for the honorees and their families in the high school library.

This year’s inductees included:
Allison “Elodie” Blackwell
Sarah “Arlette” Frank
Lauren “Michele” Hall
Joshua “Jean” Solomon
Brady “Pierre” Groves
Anna “Isabelle” Decker
Benjamin “Patrick” Bokulich

Print This Article